01 January - 31 December
Mon 10.00 - 17.00
Tue 10.00 - 17.00
Wed 10.00 - 17.00
Thu 10.00 - 17.00
Fri 10.00 - 17.00
Sat 10.00 - 17.00
Sun 10.00 - 17.00
The protected late Gothic church stands in the centre of Overijse, near the notorious S curve on the old Brussels–Namur road. Its core, including a visitor centre on grape cultivation, is listed heritage. Saint Martin, its patron, is typical of churches founded around 800.
Built in sandstone, the church has a cross-shaped plan. The tower preserves a twelfth century Romanesque core. The choir was rebuilt after a devastating fire in 1489; a second fire in the seventeenth century destroyed much of the village and damaged the remaining parts, later restored. The first fire claimed 300 lives.
A tombstone in the choir leads to the Horne family crypt, with their genealogy and links to Belgian royalty explained in the sacristy. The church also holds the tombstone of Maria Lips, sister of humanist Justus Lipsius, born in Overijse in 1547.
Inside are a sixteenth century stone baptismal font bearing the arms of the lords of Wittem, two bluestone holy water fonts, two baroque side altars in marbled wood and six confessionals. The sandstone altar and oak choir are neo Gothic.
The transepts contain eighteenth and nineteenth century paintings depicting the Supper at Emmaus, the Elevation of the Cross, Saint Helena discovering the True Cross and Our Lady giving the Rosary to Saint Dominic. A statue of Saint Martin in the left transept was donated by Overijse’s First World War veterans.
Behind the main altar, three stained glass windows by J.-B. Capronnier illustrate the life of Saint Martin. A modern window from 1987 by local artist Jean Rigaux stands on the left side of the choir.
Sources :
Inventory Architectural heritage
Local History Society De Beierij van Ijse (www.beierij.be)