01 January - 31 December
Mon
Tue
Wed 11.30 - 13.00
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
17 September - 18 September
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat 8.00 - 10.00
Sun 7.00 - 12.00
Not far from here stood a chapel where Louis XI prayed when he learned that his troops had defeated those of Mary of Burgundy. The chapel was then named Notre-Dame de Bonne Nouvelle.
A first neo-Gothic church was built on this site during the second half of the 19th century to replace the chapel rebuilt in 1683 and to meet the needs of this densely populated and rapidly expanding neighbourhood. This church had three naves and a stone bell tower crowned with four spires. Destroyed during the bombings of April 1915, it was rebuilt after the Great War on the ruins of the previous one in a simplified style and now has only one nave and two aisles. Sober and unadorned, it is nonetheless charming, with a bell tower reminiscent of the old bell towers of the Artois region: hexagonal in shape with crockets.
Located at the corner of the old Arras-Paris National Road and Rue du Commandant Dumetz, it lies on the Via Francigena and the Way of St James, a few hundred metres from the railway station.
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)