The fact that the church is dedicated to Saint Martin points to avery early foundation date. The present building was constructed from 1771-1773 in line with the architectural plans of Paul Mungenast of Echternach, based on the model of the old collegiate church of St. Paulinus in Trier. The paintings are by Ignaz Millim, an immigrant from Moravia. They have been restored several times. The main altar and the organ originate from the Dominican Priory in Marienthal, a convent for nuns of noble birth, which was closed in 1783. The church houses a collection unique in Luxembourg of memorial plaques, commemorating the Lords of Linster.