The parish church originally belonged to the
prince-bishops of Liège. In 1066, Prince-Bishop Theoduinus granted the right of patronage of the parish to the chapter of Notre-Dame de Huy. In 1483, the church was burnt down by Brabant soldiers, and in 1490, it was looted and burnt down again by the troops of Jehannot-le-Bâtard, fighting on the side of Robrecht II de la Marck.
The attached
west tower (1385) has five storeys. The first and part of the second floor are made of flint, with limestone corner bands. The others are in marlstone. The portal is neo-Gothic. The tower is topped by a gabled spire and, on the south side, a four-storey polygonal stair turret.
The
late Gothic nave (1600s) is built of brick. It is a cruciform church with three naves and a five-sided closed choir. Around 1900, 15th-century wall paintings were discovered, but these disappeared when neo-Gothic paintings were added in 1920.
The interior contains a unique 12th-century
baptismal font, magnificent statues, notably of St. Roch, and a
special calvary. Magnificent stained glass windows create a special atmosphere.
Next to the recently restored, centuries-old church is a
small chapel, well-maintained throughout the year. People suffering from ailments or illnesses seek the support of Saint Aldegonde here, and have permanent access to the chapel. Celebrations of her feast day take place every year on January 30 and the following Sunday.
Sources: Wikipedia - Immaterieel erfgoed.be
KIKIRPA: Photo-library online