Chapel | 1726 | Classical | Protestant Church
Authentic organ from 1900 with original mechanical wind mechanism. Unique gem of organ art from a bygone era. Visit the bell tower and learn the trade of bell ringer.
06 June - 07 June
Mon -
Tue -
Wed -
Thu -
Fri -
Sat 14.00 - 19.00
Sun 14.00 - 19.00
A castral chapel existed as early as 1280, originally called Quinte Kapellen, referring to the union of the five churches of Attenhoven, Racour, Rumsdorp, Waasmont and St Gertrudis Landen. Saint-Gilles chapel
The Saint-Gilles chapel is located in the valley of the Molenbeek and adjoins the Motte of Rumsdorp, an enclosed structure with an overgrown mound (diameter of 40 metres and a height of 9 metres).
The present chapel was built in 1726 and consecrated on 22 January 1727.
According to a plaque in the facade, the construction was paid for by the tithe lord Lamperti Leodensis. It is a single-naved brick and bluestone volume of three bays with built-in west tower and a polygonal choir to which the sacristy connects.
The tower and sacristy date from the 19th century. A building seam in the side walls confirms this later extension.
Sober classicist, strongly self-contained ensemble with round-arched windows. Noticeable absence of windows in the northern nave wall. Flat wooden ceiling with beams resting on stone consoles.
The Saint Gilles Chapel has been a protected monument since 1999.
L'autel du portique contient un monogramme marial dans une auréole dorée sur la façade de l'arche.
Le maître-autel contient un tableau sur toile de la première moitié du XVIIIe siècle, représentant Notre-Dame Immaculée Conception (école flamande).
Simple confessionnal en chêne du XVIIIe siècle avec dans le
couronnement un médaillon avec l'Œil de Dieu dans un halo de rayons
Ce petit orgue simple à cinq voix sans pédale date de 1900 environ et a été construit par Vve Geurts & Cie Anvers. Malheureusement, l'orgue n'a pas fait partie du projet de restauration de 2010. L'installation mécanique originale du soufflet est presque intacte.
Le chemin de croix original a été volé en 1999. Le chemin de croix actuel en plâtre a été prêté par les Frères Mineurs de Saint-Trond.
La chapelle Saint-Gilles possède deux cloches. Une première cloche date de 1834 et fut réalisée par Vanden Gheyn . Elle a un diamètre de 76 cm (ton W).
Une deuxième cloche plus petite a été fondue par le liégeois Pierre Levache.
La cloche, rare en Flandre, a un diamètre de 50 cm et produit un ton A.