The church of Saint Marie d'Oignies was inaugurated in 1909 and is dedicated to Blessed Marie d'Oignies, a 13th century beguine and mystic.
The church is built in the Romanesque style on a Latin cross plan. The choir faces east and the rising sun. The right transept houses the altar dedicated to Saint Mary of Oignies. A reliquary containing a rib of the saint, made in 1926 by the École des métiers d'art de Maredsous, is kept here. Marie d'Oignies is still remembered today for the happy birth of children. At the foot of the altar is the tomb of Jacques de Vitry, which has stood since 1970. The left transept houses an altar dedicated to the Virgin.
The confessionals in the transepts are part of the furnishings of the former church of the priory of Saint Nicholas, demolished in 1838.
The church will soon house the
Centre d'Interprétation du Proto-béguinisme à Oignies (CIPO). This will highlight the heritage of this church, as well as that of the Treasure of Oignies, deposited in the Trema, a museum located in Namur.
The CIPO is an association of several partners who, since 2016, have been developing the project to highlight the lives of three important figures of the beguinal movement: Saint Mary of Oignies, Jacques de Vitry and Hugo of Oignies.
This museum space will put into perspective the role of the proto-béguinage born in the 12th century in the former diocese of Liège in favour of the development of this movement, also in connection with the Flemish beguinages.
The CIPO and its 6 facets (FR)