Parvis Saint-Pierre 9
Church | 1075 - 1952 | Romanesque, Gothic | Roman Catholic Church
A church administration is legally obliged to keep an inventory of the movable property belonging to it. As for many other buildings, at Saint-Pierre de Lessines, such a catalogue had not been made since the second half of the 19th century! Started in 2015, the new inventory is gradually coming to an end, but it has been expanded to include the inventory of an important chapel belonging to the Fabrique, that of Notre-Dame de la Porte d'Ogy. The activity "Did you say... inventory?" will allow us to discover why such work is so important, and also to reveal to the public some works that are rarely used or exhibited; it is also an opportunity to discover the mass of voluntary work that such an undertaking represents. The activity will follow directly on from the guided tours "Welcome to your home! (duration: 45 min).
A church is a place of assembly but also a place of history, art and culture. In Lessines, Saint-Pierre church has been classified as a historical monument since 1941. Beyond being a place where the faithful gather, the building belongs to everyone, Lessines residents or not! Such old buildings must be the object of particular and regular attention, and this is the case of Saint-Pierre church, which has been awaiting major work for over 20 years. The parallel between the time it took to undertake the restoration of the monument following its bombing in 1940 and the wait for the next work is interesting to mention. During the "Welcome to your home" guided tours, beyond the historical, architectural and artistic aspects, the problems encountered by such a large building are an opportunity to discover it from a different angle, with the added bonus of one or two surprises... depending on the sanitary conditions in force! (duration: 1h30)
A church is a place of welcome, a church is a place of beauty. On the occasion of the "Open Churches" weekend, Saint-Pierre opens its doors to Less'Art, a collective of Lessinois artists founded in 2013. Painters, sculptors, watercolourists, ceramists... a range of artistic and craft disciplines practised by amateurs or professionals who free themselves from the solitude of the studio by forging friendly links. It is not unrealistic to think that, in the context of the 80/70 Commemorations, some of the works have a more or less direct link with the history of the building that hosts them.
The last thematic exhibition of the "80/70 Commemorations", GHOSTS & MISSING PERSONS may seem enigmatic... but it is! GHOSTS for all the furniture planned by the architect Simon Brigode but which never saw the light of day... MISSING PERSONS, for all the pieces which have been "lost" over the centuries or which, having escaped the destruction of 11 May 1940, have... "gone astray" or have, alas, been stolen or altered since then...
Despite the destruction of 1940, the church of St. Peter has preserved some old pieces of liturgical textiles, saved from the disaster. Both the provisional church and the restored building, which was reopened for worship in 1952, have reconstituted an impressive wardrobe, with several hundred pieces.Through three exhibitions, from 2020 to 2022, a few pieces of these ornaments, ranging from the 18th to the 21st century, will be presented in the Sainte-Barbe chapel, which for the occasion will be transformed into a gigantic showcase.The exhibition "De blanc et d'or", the final part of the trilogy, is devoted to textiles used for festive occasions. This is by far the most important section of the St Peter's collection: some twenty-two vestments - including chasubles, dalmatic robes, stoles, maniples, chalice veils, burselets - a number of copes, eighteen stoles and a few other items, totalling almost 150 pieces.The exhibition is open free of charge from 1 May to 5 September 2022.