3211 Binkom (Lubbeek)
01 June - 14 September
Fri 10.00 - 16.00
Sat 10.00 - 16.00
Sun 10.00 - 16.00
The parish church is often hailed as the 'Cathedral of the Hageland', because of its large dimensions compared to the small size of the village.
The Flemish Institute for Immovable Heritage does no honor to the church: "The only old element in this neo-Gothic whole is the western tower, with its small southern turret. It is a solid square structure with three floors of sand-lime brick and quartzite, in transition style (13th century). "
Other authorities are more generous. The Guide for Flanders for example points quite rightly on the figure Alexander Van Arenbergh, an architect. The Leuven architect family Van Arenbergh built dozens of neo-Gothic churches in the Hageland. The church of Binkom was, with the exception of the 13th-century western tower, completely new built by him in 1874-1875.
The Davidsfonds Publication “Hageland from A to Z" also points to the grave of Father Jacob Mellaerts against the churchyard wall on the side of the church choir. Jacob Mellaerts born in Binkom (1845-1925), is known as a social worker and co-founder of the Belgian Farmers’ Union.
On the inside the figurative stained-glass windows are especially eye-catching, including a choir window from 1888 by Grossé. The neo-Gothic main altar from 1894 and Van Dinter organ from ca. 1850 are very valuable.
The church council wants to open the church to the public to meet the desire of many to visit the church out of cultural or spiritual reasons, to look around or to experience peace and tranquility within the church.
KIKIRPA : Photo-library online
3300 Vissenaken (Tienen)
09.00 - 18.00 Open
09.00 - 16.00 Open
3010 Kessel-Lo (Leuven)
09.00 - 17.00 Open